< All Topics

Add a read-only user to a shared folder

Adding a user with read-only permissions allows them to only view and download files from the folder. Follow the steps below to set-up a shared folder to a user and grant read-only access.

1. Click “Files” tab > Select the folder you’d like to share > click “Share”

2. Click “Add contacts” (for sharing folders with Contacts or Users/Usernames)

3. For new Contacts
> Enter email addresses of people you want to share the folder with if they are not already contacts
For existing Contacts or Users already in the account
> Click “Add contacts” and select email or Username

4. Select the Allow Access privilege for these contacts
Note: You can update the individual contact privileges and notifications later if required

5. Click continue; you can now view a complete list of shared privileges and notifications (see below)

Settings
Allow Read access:  the contact can only view and download files from either the Hosted~FTP~ console or an FTP client
Allow Write access:  the contact can only upload files from either the Hosted~FTP~ console or an FTP client. Note that after the file is uploaded the contact will receive confirmation of upload but cannot see the file(s) in the folder
Allow Read/Write access:  the contact can upload/download files from either the Hosted~FTP~ console or an FTP client

Table of Contents