Hosted~FTP~’s file retention policy feature allows admins to set-up rules in your infrastructure, and when those criteria are met, to automatically delete files in your account. This feature is available starting at the Enterprise T2 bundle and above.
Going to the Policy tab, you’ll find a list of your existing policies in place to manage, or add a new policy. Click on the Add button located on the right-side menu to add a new policy. Please see table below to understand what to input into each field.
Note: The rule is set on the owner of the folder and not the shared folder. (I.e. if you add a username in User + and they have read/write permissions to a shared folder – the rule will not work)
|Policy Name||Name of the policy|
|Action||Default is Delete. Cannot be changed.|
|User +||Use a * to include all users in your account, or add specific users and separate by a comma|
|User –||Exclude users who you do not want to be affected by this policy|
|Folder +||Use a * to include all folders, or specify the folder path (You can enable the include subfolders option)
Note: Add a / in front of the path i.e. /Mainfolder/subfolder
|Folder –||Exclude folders here|
|File +||Use a * to include all file extensions, or include specific file extensions and separate by a comma|
|File –||Exclude file extensions here|
|Other Criteria||Default is The uploaded date is older than. Cannot be changed.|
|Time Amount||The amount of the unit specified|
|Time Unit||Select your unit to measure the time amount: days, weeks, months, years|
|Active||Check marking this option will enable the policy. Un-checking the option will disable the policy.|
Once your settings have been confirmed, please click on Save to keep your policy saved. If the Active checkbox is enabled, as a result, it will also turn on the policy immediately. The policy will run only once a day.