When a User leaves an organization it may be necessary to move the folders/files and shares they own to an administrator before deleting their user profile. Please note deleting a user is a destructive process that will permanently delete all data (files, folders, mail events) that user owned with no possibility of recovery. Follow the steps below to transfer files from a user to an admin prior to deleting a user profile.
The first step is to create the new folder to be owned by an admin.
3. Login proxy to gain access to the user as an admin (see this link)
4. Go to the user’s Files tab and move all folders and files into the new shared folder
5. Review ownership and make sure files and folders are now owned by the admin. Log back in as the admin and review the folder structure
6. Review the user’s storage in the Users tab to see if there is any remaining data to be transferred over (i.e. files attached in mail events, etc.) and making sure the storage is 0.
*Please note that once you delete the user any data owned by the user is permanently deleted and will not be recoverable.