Create a username for read-only access. This user will only be able to view and download files and folders but will be unable to upload into their account, create folders or manipulate folder names or structure in any way. Typically, a username with read-only access is an external user that has no control over the account and simply pulls files from your FTP site.
Note: When creating a read-only user, you can also limit the amount of bandwidth the user has by specifying a bandwidth quota. Once the specified user reaches the allocated bandwidth resources, their account will no longer be able to upload, in addition, if an email is linked with the account … the user and the admin (account owner) will receive an email notification. When a sharing folder with a read-only user, account level settings overwrite folder level permissions, meaning if someone shares a folder with the user and grants the user write permission, the user will still be unable to upload.