< All Topics

Setting Up Restricted Shared Folders

The owner of a folder can share the folder with a user(s) and restrict their access permissions (read, write, read/write, read/write/no delete). Typical use cases are when external users or vendors need to upload and download private/confidential documents. This is especially true to communities of interest like legal firms, healthcare firms, financial/insurance firms, and any other businesses that need to restrict file transfer access to any folder.

To learn how to create a restricted shared folder, follow the instructions below. Also, you can download this one-page guide for easy reference.

Creating a Restricted User to Share

  1. Go to the Users Tab to create or configure your user for a restricted folder outcome.
  2. Click Add or Add username to create a new user.
    Alternatively, you can select a current user to change their settings and skip to step 4.
  3. Fill in the user’s login credentials and save.
  4. Scroll down to the advanced options.
  5. Check Manage user settings.
  6. Check Add a storage quota and input 0 GB.
  7. Scroll down to Default FTP folder and input the name of the folder you want to restrict the user to (optional).

 

Creating a Shared Folder Steps

  1. Go to the Files Tab to create or configure your folder before sharing access.
  2. Click the New folder option, located on the right-hand menu.
    Alternatively, you can click an existing folder and skip to the next step.
  3. Select the folder and click the Share button.
  4. In the share screen, click Add contacts. Click Add contacts again to add from your current list of contacts and users.
  5. Set the permissions and notifications using the drop-down lists at the bottom of the Add contacts screen.
  6. Save

 

Table of Contents