< All Topics

Users Tab

Description: Only available on account administrators, operations admins and group admins web consoles. Use the Users tab to create new managed users and users, configure user settings, import users and create and set up groups. The Users tab is not available on personal accounts.

What is a User?

A user can send mail to any email address and create folders that can be shared with others.
Users Tab

Types of Users

Description: There are 5 main types of users that help differentiate authority and control in your account.
Types of Users

Type Description
Admin Owner of the account. Full access/Permissions. Contains all features i.e create operation admins, users, managed users, setup and configure user settings and has access to branding and account tab (billing).
Operations Admin: Full access/Permissions. An ability to create, setup and configure users and managed users. No access to the account tab (billing)
Group Admin A group admin can create users only in their specific group and assign account storage and bandwidth limits to the overall group.
User Full access/permissions. Can manage own account settings/credentials, create contacts, use the plugin, send and request (i.e receive files) from any email address.
Managed User Full or read-only access on folders and files. Can create contacts, use the plugin, send and request (i.e receive files) from any email address.

 Users Tab Interface

The home link allows you to review your current list of users, user status, and usage. Add, configure and delete users or import multiple users simultaneously.

Feature Description
Search Search for a specific user by name, username or email address.
Users List View all current users and their name, username, email address, storage, bandwidth, if 2 step authentication has been enabled and quota limits and usage.
User A user in your account. Click to view, manage or delete user settings and information.
Add Add a new user by email address or by upgrading an existing contact. Sends an activation email to the user enabling them to log in. Full user options are available by clicking the user after completion.
Add Username Create a custom username and password. It does not require an email address. Full user options are available after user completion.
Import Users Add multiple contacts, users or shared folders simultaneously.

User Settings

Additional settings appear after the login credentials have been finalized and saved.
Add Username

Feature Description
Login by proxy using the admin password and gain full access to a user’s account.
Change Username Change username used to access the user’s account.
Password Change Change the password used to access the user’s account.
Email i.e Add Link an email address to this user to enable email notifications. Sends an activation email to the user allowing them to log in.
Time Zone Specify the time zone for the user
(affects time stamps for logs).
Country Specify the geographic location for the user.
Language Specify the language of the user.
Signature Create a signature to appear at the end of each message you send. This account level signature typically contains references to confidentiality, privacy, copyright policy and general contact information.

 

Advanced Options

Scrolling down the user’s settings you will find the advanced options list. Add additional security features, configure storage and bandwidth quotas, link an email, specify the default FTP folder, set up notifications, show imports in specified folders and set up public keys.
User Options

Feature Description
Active Activate or deactivate the user. Deactivated users will no longer have account access via a web browser or FTP client.
Admin Make the user an admin. User admins have full access/permissions and include all features including the ability to create new users and managed users.
Force FTPS/SFTP Force user to connecting using secure FTPS or SFTP protocols when using an FTP client.
Add a Storage Quota Limit the maximum amount of storage a user can occupy in your remote site.
Add a Bandwidth Quota Limit the maximum amount of bandwidth a user can use in your account.
Delete mail after

&

Show mail in the FTP Folder

Deletes mail events (located in the Home tab) after a certain amount of days.
Reveal all mail events in a specified folder. This folder will appear in your root directory
Default FTP folder Force the user into a specific folder upon login using a web browser by specifying the default FTP folder i.e.

NOTE: User will still need to specify default remote
directory/default FTP folder in FTP client. If the folder is not owned by this user, they will still need to be shared access to the folder in the owner’s Files tab.

Save import results in FTP folder Enable and specify import results into a specified folder.
Notify me when (Sent, received, both) Enable notifications upon successful sent and/or received mail event.
Ask a security question during a password reset Specify a security question and answer upon password reset to add additional security measures.
Add an attachment with download instructions Adds download instructions to every sent file. Recipients will receive the download instructions in their email inbox.
(only works for recipients that have an email specified)
Use a public key for SFTP authentication Enable and set up PKI keys for this user.
Table of Contents